Poem: Summer Moments

I walk around with my camera
Catching the moments
Before I simply let them go.
The choice isn’t mine
Though I like to think it is
So I might yet be
A little
Of the creator…

A brave butterfly in mourning coat
Marooned in full flight,
Spotted blue and fading yellow,
Posing ragged wings
As if inviting the chance
Of my noticing
Its moment
Quickly passing too.

Cone flowers forming tall umbrellas
Under the noon sun,
Folding down, pretending homage
To hybrid lilies,
Crowded buds swelling into
Candy cane colors
To make most
M
erry in July.

And a straying friend curled beneath
Soundless orange trumpets,
His sleepy eyes wondering what
Might yet be taken
As I hold him in my view
And every moment
In regret
That he is not mine.


 

 

 

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

6 thoughts on “Poem: Summer Moments

    • Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed Summer Moments. Your blog name also captures summer! It feels good to share. I have just started writing poetry again after many years of concentrating on (and procrastinating over) prose. Poetry has such an immediacy about it…starting as a scribbled first few lines that somehow know where they need to go. Blessings!

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

