Poem: Not Divorced from Daffodils

It might be
she had dreamed up
that courtship
following
an inclination
over such
green and pleasant hills.

A handful
of tightly
hopeful buds;
much better
to pick them that way,
some warmth to
open them slowly
into daffodils-
among her
favorite flowers
to this day.

 

(Author’s note: The writing of this poem just happened the other night. I realize for many daffodils are out of season. No matter. The nature of reflection is being out of place and time. The picture of wild daffodils is from a journal I did back in the 1980’s while living in England: a year of Oxfordshire flora and fauna in paintings and verse…no doubt inspired by The Diary of an Edwardian Lady by Edith Holden which was very popular at the time.)
 
©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.
9 thoughts on “Poem: Not Divorced from Daffodils

  1. Oh how delightful! Your gorgeous picture reminds me of when, as a 7-year-old, I learnt the ‘The Daffodil Fairy’ poem from my Flower Fairy book to perform at a family Christmas play. It is one that I’ve never forgotten and repeat to myself many times each spring:

    I’m everyone’s darling;
    the blackbird and starling
    Are shouting about me from
    blossoming boughs’
    For I, the Lent Lily,
    the Daffy-down-dilly,
    Have heard through
    the country the call to arouse.

    The orchards are ringing
    with voices a-singing
    The praise of my petticoat,
    praise of my gown;
    The children are playing, and hark!
    They are saying
    That Daffy-down-dilly is come up to town!

    Like

  2. Laurel’s comment on her blog about yours providing her with some joy led me here. I see what she means. I love this picture too. Whereabouts in Oxfordshire were you? I’m from nearby.

    Do you know the Edward Thomas poem ‘Adlestrop’? I was reminded of it by your reference to Oxfordshire.

    I very much like this poem. Something that might have been, or could have been or should have been? Lovely.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for visiting my blog and also for your kind and understanding comments. I lived in Wroxton Oxon, a small village about 3 miles from Banbury. I went there in the mid 1970’s (Oh! I’m giving away my age) for a semester at Wroxton College (Wroxton Abbey) and stayed for 16 years! Daffodils were very possibly the reason I stayed…

      I knew of the poem “Adlerstrop” but hadn’t read it in many years. Thank you for sending me to it. I especially love the last two stanzas, reminding me of what was so difficult to leave behind I never really did:

      And willows, willow-herb, and grass,
      And meadowsweet, and haycocks dry,
      No whit less still and lonely fair
      Than the high cloudlets in the sky.

      And for that minute a blackbird sang
      Close by, and round him, mistier,
      Farther and farther, all the birds
      Of Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire.

      And I am so glad your message has led me to your splendid writing…I have just begun to search through its treasures…you will see me there often…Blessings. Diane

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

