Nature Insight: Dawn Speaks

At day’s break the only chatter that needs to be heard rises up—not with alarm but conviction for what waits to be enjoyed and avoided.

“Hope” is the thing with feathers–
That perches in the soul–
And sings the tune without words–
And never stops–at all–

Emily Dickinson (American Poet, 1830 – 1886)

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

44 thoughts on “Nature Insight: Dawn Speaks

  1. Indeed, all we need to listen for at dawn are the sounds that tell us what to embrace and what to leave alone! And isn’t Emily Dickinson just unbeatable in the history of American poetry?

    Like

    • That’s right, we must listen to the inner voice that wants us to be nourished and alert.

      Yes, I knew where to go for a poem about birdsong…Emily Dickinson’s poetry inhales and exhales, is so small and so large…

      Thanks for your visit and comment!

      Like

    • Thank you for your kind comment! So nice of you to visit.

      ‘I will think on what needs to be enjoyed and avoided tomorrow’…I think Scarlet O’Hara said something similiar in Gone with the Wind! Fiddle-de-dee!

      Like

    • Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Yes, sometimes in the summer, laying in bed with the window open it begins very softly and slowly, almost one note at a time…until the chorus rises up and let’s go.

      Now I think of it, I should’ve titled this ‘Dawn Chorus’.

      Like

  2. I love the title as it is. This is a wonderful triple treat; the Dickinson poem; the brilliant illustrations; and your few words that say so much. I especially like the cat on the branch – a reminder, perhaps, that we are not all hoping for or needing to avoid the same things! I tweeted this.

    Like

    • …’a reminder, perhaps, that we are not all hoping for or needing to avoid the same things!’

      Not only is the cat stalking his desire, but keeping a look out for what might be desiring him (or how far he has to fall). Giving the birds time to make the most of their advantage of feathered flight.

      Very perceptive, as your comments always are. Thank you, and for confirming the title was the ‘right’ one. I so totally trust your judgment.

      Like

  3. “to be enjoyed and avoided” – a perfect encapsulation of the trepidation of each new day, with all its potential joy and trial. Beautiful illustrations, thank you for sharing your multi-dimensional artistry!

    Like

  4. Oh what a beautiful piece!!!!

    Perfect illustrations capturing such powerful sentiments.

    This post comes at a time when I am finding the dawn difficult to manage;it is a small hurdle I have to jump each day and I was always hopeless at hurdles at school!! I am ok once the jump has been carried out and this will help me through that, and hopefully make me smile.

    You have the ability to bring fun in among the serious stuff with such a gentle and heartfelt touch.

    The Emily Dickinson quote is beautiful and helps too; such powerful words.

    Thank you do much for sharing this.

    Christine

    Like

    • Thank you, Christine.

      What a complement, to think that such a small effort of mine can help you begin a day a little easier. I hope my sending a hug for healing does as well.

      What came to me, as I was reading your reply, was how fragile yet brave the songbirds are. I often watch how they subtly but persistently ‘work around’ their hurdles…like the squirrels getting in the way of their nourishment…or the wind trying to blow them off course …or their larger counterparts bullying them.

      Yes, Emily was a powerful poet, in her simple solitary way she was so sophisticated and expansive. I can always go to her for what I need, whether a quote for a post or a feast for my soul.

      Blessings for easier risings.

      Like

  5. Happy belated thanksgiving! Thank you for this beautiful post. I love how dawn speaks through you… not with alarm, but conviction… and with wisdom to guard against ‘predators’ while seeking what ‘waits to be enjoyed.’ Is that not one of the most difficult tasks to balance? (For me, it seems it is!!) Hope you’re finding much joy today. I’m grateful for you!

    Like

    • Hi Angela! Happy Thanksgiving weekend! Hope you are having a peaceful joyous holiday.

      Glad you enjoyed this post and I love your comment. Yes, it’s hard some times, to enjoy life and be safe…(just had a very profound dream about it last night) but that is where faith comes in, something which the little birds seem to embody.

      Our connection is a blessing!

      Like

  6. I love the sounds of birds.. Every morning I wake up to my friend the pigeon. Always there at the same time peeking through…
    Your art work is beautiful..

    Like

  7. Your beautiful art and words so often bring happy memories flooding back to me. Living in a street with only one tree, in busy London, I seldom hear much morning birdsong these days, and one of my favourite things about spending time in the countryside is waking up to this gentle delight. thank you for suffusing my day with this lovely thought.

    Like

    • Hi Laurel! And thank you! So glad to see you here. I know you have been extremely unwell and I hope you’re feeling healthier every day.

      Glad I can help bring happy thoughts to you. To Know that makes my day so much brighter too. Blessings for healing and much better days and years ahead.

      Like

  8. These drawings are so very beautiful and so is the poem, thank you for sharing! Those birds (they have funny names in English) are such a treat in gardens! And the cats love them too 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Ina. So glad you enjoyed it. Yes, sometimes English common names of birds and animals and plants are strange…I like to look up their origins. In seems that ‘tit’ is an Old English/Germanic word, denoting something small.

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

