A Valentine: Chasing the Butterfly

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

Love
like a butterfly
trusts
the heart in
her wings,

 

only the clover
a
nd
the sky
-not an end-
in sight.

 


 

Writing note: After I put this post together,  I was looking at my Sister Wendy Beckett ‘Meditations on Love’  book and came upon her interpretation of the Gainsborough painting (of his two young daughters), ‘Chasing the Butterfly’.

 

Here is some of her reflection:

‘We have to allow those dear to us to chase the butterfly, however convinced we are that it is uncatchable. We can never give the butterfly of happiness to another; each must catch it alone. For some, it will be ever elusive…’

 

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

27 thoughts on “A Valentine: Chasing the Butterfly

  1. What an absolutely beautiful Valentine message Diane – I love all of it and I can’t stop gazing at this “whispery” illustration. (I have used this word before to describe your illustrations)

    I adore butterflies and anything related to them, words, pictures etc, they are to me one of the world’s most amazing species with such delicacy and yet such strength too.

    And the bee hovering over the clover is just “wow” You continue to amaze and inspire me.

    Christine

    Like

    • You are, as ever, so generous and poetic in your comments, Christine. I just love reading them. Think of butterflys whenever you feel held down or heavy in heart or mind or body or just needing to fly away with your imagination. Blessings and hugs! Diane

      Like

  2. Our son Kevin loved butterflies, so there is a lot for both of us to love in this poem and the illustration. To both of us, too, the butterfly is a symbol of deep love. It trusts the heart in the wings.

    Like

    • Your comment touched me deeply, Thomas (and Ethel). I’m so glad this post connected you both with your beloved son. For me there is always something spirtual about a butterfly, something as elusive as real.

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

