Nature Insight: Side by Side

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

Doves welcome the day

 side by side in place

 on the open sway

 of approaching spring.

No need to compete

 for such a small space

 or spoil the treat

 their cooing can bring.


No jealousy here

 or mention of fear,

 no pain to inflict–

 it’s peace they predict.


Writing note: I wrote this poem last night to go along with this painting. This morning I was standing by the large window that looks out on my patio and the bird feeders and there was a dove sitting on the ground staring at me! He stayed there for a long time looking up at the window…maybe or maybe not waiting for me to appear again. I like to think he was…

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

36 thoughts on “Nature Insight: Side by Side

  1. I love how you’ve caught slightly different expressions on the doves’ faces! Your painting has a style all of its own: so original. I love the colours in this one. I also really like the line, ‘on the open sway of approaching spring’. It sounds so lyrical and hopeful, somehow. Really lovely.

    Like

    • Thank you, BH! I’m so glad you found it hopeful (strange because it was born from frustration and even a little anger over someone—or two— trying to spoil the joy of accomplishment by throwing into an almost gladiatorial arena of competition).

      That’s why I love the arts…there’s always room for more!

      Like

  2. Bardess, that dove WAS waiting for you to sketch him! I love the bent limb as you sketched it. I love the different sized doves, with different body language and different shaped beaks. No, there never is any competition or jealousy where there is such peace! Wonderful lines! Bless you, dear bardess.

    Like

  3. I’m visiting from Val’s blog and am delighted to find your mourning dove painting and poem – so lovely – mourning doves have a special place in my heart as I associate them with messages from my mother, who died twenty years ago. Looking forward to exploring more of your blog!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your visit, Barbara, and your heartfelt comment. I am so glad that my little post evoked something positive and spiritual to you. I am a believer that there are messengers all around us. Blessings!

      Like

  4. I’m quite sure that he was waiting for you! Birds are intuitive too – they are God’s creatures – just like we are!
    Beautiful painting and beautiful writing!

    Like

  5. We have doves that live around our house summer, fall, winter, and spring. They compete with the chickadees, pinion jays, and plethoria of birds that visit Ethel’s daily restaurants filled with seed, but both the ring necked and inca doves serenade every day and enrich the life in our small piece of New Mexico with a peace that emanates equally from this poem. The drawing and the poem, as usual, helps make this day.

    Like

    • Thank you, Thomas, for such a lovely interesting comment. I love when there is a sharing of nature’s stories and insights. I’m so glad my poem and illustration brought some peace into your day!

      Like

  6. Hi, lovey! I’ve given you the Soul-Song Award for this poem–it’s wonderful, and clearly blessed by the appearance of your dove! Visit my blog for more info–but there are no demanding rules. God bless you muchly.

    Like

  7. I love those sweet birds…your poem perfectly describes their peaceful demeanor. Your painting is so charming and I like that one of the birds was checking you out through the window…I wonder what he was thinking…

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

