The Moon and June

Sunday (5/13) is Mother’s Day in the US, and with deep love and devoted admiration for my mom who at 83 is as vibrant and beautiful as ever, I would like to share some paintings from her journal entitled ‘June’s Favorite Prose and Poems and Wit. Truth–Goodness–Beauty’, 1985.

Here is a poem she included in the journal, by one of her favorite poets (and mine too)…

The days are clear
day after day
when April’s here
that leads to May,
and June
must follow soon.
Stay, June, Stay!
If we could stop
the moon and June.

Christina Rosseti (1830-1894)

And from the last page of her journal…

Once upon a time

I planned to be an artist

or celebrity.

A song I thought to write one day

and all the world with homage pay.

I longed to write a noble book,

but what I did–

was learn to cook.

For life with simple tasks is filled,

and I have done not what

I willed!

June M DiGiacomo

37 thoughts on “The Moon and June

  1. Oh Diane! This is SO Lovely–every bit of it! I love Christina Rosseti, and I love your mom’s words too–what a loving and selfless heart she had. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful blessing with us! love, Caddo

    Like

    • Thank you, Caddo! Yes, when I came upon that poem in her journal I was very strongly affected by what her dreams were and how they were mostly unfulfilled. She has never made me feel that she resented the sacrifices she made. There was never the money for her to go to college or pursue much of a career–she got married at 19 to escape an unhappy situation ‘at home’ (her own mom died when she was 10 and she moved around a lot after that, her father unreliable and marrying a woman who didn’t treat his daughters very well…)

      I don’t think I would still be writing and painting today if it wasn’t for her constant love and support. I am so blessed that she is still in my life. Blessings to you always!

      Like

      • Diane, what strikes me is that you are a living tribute to her love, and her dreams–as you pursue your own artistic dreams because of her supportive constancy. This is more moving than I can really express–I am so very happy for you both.

        Like

      • Oh, Caddo, I hope that I can live up to the faith mom has always had in me…but that is what faith is all about, isn’t it, loving and knowing that it will be alright. Thank you for YOUR support and generous words. Blessings!

        Like

  2. Hi Diane
    these drawings are so lovely, and the poem, and your mother’s own poem though sad, says it so well.
    Thank you for sharing! And I hope she had a great Mother’s day! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Ina! I will pass on your comment to my mom…it will certainly mean a lot to her. Yes, when I came upon her poem it struck me as very sad…especially considering the disappointment expressed in the last line…but I also know that she has kept her dreams alive by living life truer and truer to herself as she has grown older…encouraging me to do the same. Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day…now as a grandma too!

      Like

  3. What a joy to have your mother’s journal. Bless you for sharing these beautiful portions with us here today. I totally agree with Miss Rosettie about keeping June and the moon with us much, much longer than those 30 days allow. Your mother’s rendition of that dear kitten listening so sweetly to that little bird is just a glimpse of heaven for me.

    Like

  4. The apple does not fall too far from the tree – both of you are gifted artists and poets. I’d like to see a poetry book filled with BOTH of your poems and artwork! That should be book # 2!

    Like

  5. These poems and pictures make me smile. If only we could make June stay longer – in so many ways it is a perfect month! And I love your mom’s line, “life with simple tasks is filled.” And the little girl in her drawing makes me think of a Midsummer celebration. Your mom has a way with words and creates lovely images!

    Like

    • Hi Barbara! Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. Yes–I would have June stay forever (my mom’s name). I especially love her little girl painting…and I like that you found it celebratory. And her ‘simple tasks’ line makes me think of the old Shaker song Simple GIfts
      ‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free
      ‘Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be,
      And when we find ourselves in the place just right,
      ‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.
      When true simplicity is gain’d,
      To bow and to bend we shan’t be asham’d,
      To turn, turn will be our delight,
      Till by turning, turning we come ’round right.

      Like

      • It’s the simple pleasures that make life worth living – simple gifts, yes! – we keep coming back to them when we “come ’round right…” Love the Shaker poem, Diane. I don’t think I’ve ever seen it before. Thank you!

        Like

  6. Your mother must be as vibrant as a spring morning to still be noting poetry and art in her journal at 83. This is wonderful! I am still out-walking all the younger people at Navajo Technical College where I am the Provost, but I can only dream that I will be able to still be as creative in my mind at 83 as your mother obviously is. I suspect Ethel will be that vibrant, but I am in awe. Great art. Great poetry.

    Like

    • Yes, my mother is very vibrant in her spirit and mind, even though her physical movement isn’t too good. I will pass on your lovely comment to her. I think it is wonderful and important to associate with all ages, and I can’t imagine that your creativity won’t see both you and Ethel through to ripe old ages together!

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

