Time to Express My Gratitude…

It’s almost a year
since
I began speaking here,
uncertain
of what I was doing,
unaware
of what I was wooing,
thinking
it was all about selling
socially
a story long in telling,
instead
finding friendship all around,
exchanging
voices without a sound,
creating
convivial sense of unity
with
a most eclectic community,
sharing
more than imagination
with the
breadth of our conversation…

As the 1st anniversary of my blog approaches I devote this post to my heartfelt appreciation for the generous, imaginative and interesting friends who have supported and encouraged my writing and artwork. You have helped to draw me out of creative isolation, connecting me to a world of fellow artists, humanitarians, naturalists, questioners and believers. With your beautiful words and pictures, your affecting joys and sorrows, your wit and wisdom, your compassion and courage, you have welcomed me into your homes and hearts, cultures, and causes, tragedies and triumphs.

As an essentially private person, it is so satisfying to share with those who appreciate and understand the creative process, especially as it can be more introspective than extroverted, evasive even as it wants to be revealing. The magic of social media to connect is still less than the miracle of making connections that are so intellectually, empathetically, artistically, and spiritually appropriate and even transforming. There is something more at work here than cyberspace. 

For through the miracle of your talents and thoughts and spirits,  I am constantly inspired and restored.

There are a few awards that I am LONG overdue in publically acknowledging. First Ina who nominated me for the 7X7 award–if you are not familiar with her wonderful poetry and prose then please check it out @ http://inaweblogisback.wordpress.com/.  Also Caddo who nominated me for the Soul-Song and Mrs Sparkly’s 10 Commandments Awards–again, if you haven’t already, I encourage you to experience her words and wisdom @ http://caddoveil.wordpress.com/.  Heartfelt thanks to you both, my dear friends!

If there is anyone I have omitted, please accept my apologies and know that I deeply appreciate your consideration.

I invite all who read this to check out my blog roll, which I recently updated. The wonderful thing about awards is that they introduce us to new sites and in turn forge new friendships. Reblogging is also an excellent way to share and something I will be doing a few times a month at least. It just feels right that as my blog moves into its second year, it should represent the offerings of the community it belongs to as well as my individual work.

Thank you! Thank you! Happy summer and blessings to all!

Diane  

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

25 thoughts on “Time to Express My Gratitude…

  1. What a wonderful post, Diane. My experience in ‘blogging’ has been much like yours – and much because of you! It was your first response on my blog that encouraged me to ‘keep it around’ and see what would come of this adventure (when I was immediately thinking of shutting it down!!) I have not been blogging much lately, and I’m not sure what is in my blogging future, but this has been a marvelous experience for me… one that I have learned so much from…. and one that I treasure all for the same reasons you so beautifully say:

    “it is so satisfying to share with those who appreciate and understand the creative process, especially as it can be more introspective than extroverted, evasive even as it wants to be revealing. The magic of social media to connect is still less than the miracle of making connections that are so intellectually, empathetically, artistically, and spiritually appropriate and even transforming. There is something more at work here than cyberspace.”

    Cheers to that! 🙂 Happy blog-anniversary! Blessings & much love to you who have encouraged and inspired me ever so much.

    Angela

    Like

    • Oh, Angela, thank you so much for your encouraging words! I am always so happy to know that anything I say or write or do helps others in some way…it is so easy to get caught up in my own struggles and issues and ego and confusions, etc.etc. but so much better to lose myself in something less convoluted and certainly better than I am. I just saw the following on FB today and would’ve share there except I had to allow some kind of app which I try to avoid. So I will do so here:
      Student says:” I am very discouraged. What should I do?”
      Master says: “Encourage others.”

      Thanks for your love and blessings, and know that you have returned any encouragment and inspiration a thousand fold! Diane

      Like

  2. What a beautiful, beautiful post, Diane–you echo so much of what I feel, and the truth that this is something greater than cyberspace! As I’ve said before, I’m thrilled and enriched to have met you–I look forward to another year with you, here on this lovely blog. And, my first anniversary is coming up at the end of August–I’m planning to throw a Big Party, so of course you’ll be there, right? God bless you–love, Caddo

    Like

    • Thank you for another beautiful and heartwarming comment, Caddo! My year of blogging has enriched me beyond words, but I wanted to try and express that the best I could. I can’t wait for your party! I’ll be there with bells on!

      PS My apologies for not replying to your email yet…hope to be in touch that way this week.

      Love and blessings, Diane

      Like

  3. Hi Diane, what a moving post, and I love the illustration, all flowers being one 🙂 I am glad you are a blogger and that I found your beautiful postings, and I hope you will be sharing with us for many years to come! xx

    Like

    • Hi and thank you, Ina! It has been my privilege to connect with you and discover not only your wonderful intelligent and lyrical writing but also your interesting life and exceptionally resilient and generous spirit! May we both keep the sharing coming for a long while yet! Love and blessings always, Diane

      Like

  4. Happy blog-anniversary, Diane!!! I’ve enjoyed my visits here immensely and eagerly look forward to each new poem and cheerful flower you share with us. And here again you’ve written a lovely poem to mark this special occasion. It is a “most eclectic community,” isn’t it? So happy I met you “without a sound” and am looking forward to your next year of blogging!

    Like

  5. Dear Diane, I am so very privileged to be among your blogging friends and followers! It is so very true that we creative types DO need our isolation and we DO need mutual support and encouragement by other creative folk. Hooray for cyberspace. I was not aware of Ina (will check her out) and also very much admire the work of Caddo Veil. Congratulations on your much-deserved awards. I am so much in awe of your artwork and your poetry!

    Like

    • The privilege is all mine, Rose! I am glad to introduce you to Ina…she is a beautiful spirit and poet…I think you will enjoy her work. Thank you for your generous support and friendship. It means so much to me!

      Like

  6. Hi Diane, this is truly a lovely and moving post and congratulations on one year of blogging! I am honored to be in your community, as your poetry is just beautiful, along with your amazing art work! I appreciate your visits on my fb page, too, and look forward to many more wonderful words and art from you in the future! Hugs and Blessings~
    Lauren

    Like

  7. Diane, what a wonderful post! We have been on a similar journey, discovering the world of blogging and the support and friendship of so many wonderful poets. I thank YOU for making this experience even richer – with your lovely poetry and paintings. So glad you’re HERE!

    Like

    • Thank you, Betty, and I can’t say enough how wonderful and enriching and comforting it has been to connect and make the friendship of other writers/poets! I value your support so much! Blessings always, Diane

      Like

  8. Congratulations! I’m glad you’re here blogging and I’m glad I ‘met’ you. 🙂 Thanks for posting your lovely artwork and poems and keeping going. It’s a great way to get to know people, particularly through comments. Here’s looking forward to more years of it!

    Like

    • Thank you again, Val. I am so glad that my little offerings connected me to you and your expression in art and words. I love your individuality and honesty and spiritedness, and hope our friendship will continue for a long time!

      Like

  9. What a wonderful, wonderful post! You express so much, and I am so deeply grateful to have shared some of the same journey from my very different corner of the world. Your sharing has been such a blessing for me, and your support utterly invaluable.

    Like

    • Oh, Laurel, your words mean so much. Yours was among the first blogs I connected to and your friendship is invaluable to me! Even as I don’t physically travel much, I love the feeling of being in touch with the world, in all its glorious diversity, because what really shows itself is the depth of our similarities. Thank you so much for your sharing, so real and moving and inspiring and courageous.

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

