Nature Insight: By a Thread

So small

hanging on a thread

of its own making,

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

hesitant

to go up or down,

caught in a

movement larger than

its life,

taken for a ride,

let down so gently

after all.

Flattens out then gets

up again,

delicate and brave

as it

decides its next move.

Tiniest spider

I’ve ever

seen, slowly sliding

through the cracks

where it’s safe.

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

23 thoughts on “Nature Insight: By a Thread

  1. Oh this is precious, Diane! Earlier this week Betty had a photo of a great big spider–scared me, even on the computer screen! So I think I prefer your tiny one! God bless you–love, Caddo

    Like

  2. What a beautiful image and poem! You always manage to portrait life in such a special way!
    I used to be very scared of spiders, but I got over it lol. I even let one run over my hand the other day. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Ina. What a lovely thing to say. My ex persuaded me to like and not be afraid of spiders, at least the smaller ones. I try to do everything I can to protect them. My workmates think I’m crazy. (Well, so I probably am…) XO

      Like

  3. How very often extremely important matters hand by a thread. So wonderful to learn from that spider you have executed so exquisitely in your artwork here!

    Like

  4. I love this Diane – wonderful spider poem-story! It’s nice to know there’s someone else who enjoys just watching them. (And I agree with Caddo, your delicate painting is much preferable to the spider photo I posted! 🙂 )

    Like

    • Thank you, Betty! I am glad you enjoyed it. I think it is pretty neat that we both did posting about spiders. As I had a couple of spiders attaching themselves to me over a couple of days, I thought it must be an totem for me and looked it up in my Animal-Speak book (The Spirtual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great & Small). It was so very interesting–the keynote for the spider is: ‘Creativity and the Weaving of Fate’.

      Like

      • That’s fascinating, Diane – spiders as totems. I had wondered about that myself and then an astrologer friend said it was because I’m a Scorpio, lol! “Creativity and the Weaving of Fate” – I love that!

        Like

I welcome your impressions ...

