Memories Made Gently

Painting by my mom, June

Strolling through summer

with no end in sight,

memories made gently,

caring kept simple,

all else distraction

from love at its best.

A few days ago my mother lost her last living sister to cancer. All three are gone now and I know she is deeply feeling the loss of her sibling-family, as diverse and sometimes difficult as it was. I decided it was time to post another of her lovely paintings, and in going through her artwork I came upon this one that I couldn’t remember seeing before, so absolutely delightful and serene. She said she had conceived it as a mother walking with her daughter across the fields to church on Sunday. It prompted a little caption that I hope speaks for itself as I honor her as the best friend I’ve ever had.

All she wanted was another day or week or month of saving memories, the cruelty of death not the end of the future but a longer past.

Blessings for the best of love to all!

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

22 thoughts on “Memories Made Gently

  1. Oh my goodness, this is so touching, Diane–my sympathies to you and your mom. What an exquisitely beautiful painting–I must have missed the last one, as I didn’t realize you come from a family of artists. Such a lovely post–God bless you–love, Caddo

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Caddo. Yes, I was so happy to come upon this painting by my mom, done in oils, and I have it in my bedroom now and must get it framed. My mother is a very free-spirited painter and person for that matter. This is a difficult time for her, but she is very self-contained and hopeful, sustained by the simple pleasures and I hope by my love for her.

      I plan to get over to your blog later today and catch up. Last week I really got behind on reading others’ posts. Blessings, DianeXO

      Like

  2. Diane, I am so sorry for your loss.

    This has to be one of the loveliest paintings I have seen, equal and more to any I have seen in famous galleries. I just love the way the yellow of the parasol is mirrored in the dresses and so delicately too. It’s just beautiful. And the verse is equal in its delicacy, perfect!

    My thoughts are with you both

    Lots of love

    Christine xxx

    Like

    • Thank you for your sympathies, Christine.

      Yes, isn’t it a beautiful painting? I am so glad I came upon it and could share. I love the translucent effect of the dresses and the gentle connection and movement of the figures, and the impressionistic feel to the field they’re walking through.

      Blessings and love, DianeXO

      Like

  3. Your mother has a real talent…it’s a beautiful painting…love the softness of it. It’s so hard to see your loved ones passing away. My mother is in this stage of her life too…she has two precious sisters left…the three of them dealing with various health concerns. I can’t imagine when that time comes for me…

    My mother too is a talented artist…many family members have an original painting of hers given as gifts.

    Like

    • Yes, this painting of my mom’s is one of my favorites. Wonderful that your mother is an artist too … perhaps you can post something of hers sometime, if you haven’t already. Seeing my mom’s sisters–my aunts–all pass really brings home how I must cherish everyday with my mom. But let’s put out the positive energy for both our mothers to be around for many many more years! Love and blessings, Diane XO

      Like

  4. Diane, (sorry to be slow catching up here)
    This post is so touching, poignant and beautiful. Thank you for sharing with us – and my belated condolences to both you and your mother on the loss of your dear aunt. My heart goes out to you both.

    Like

  5. Hi Diane
    this is a beautiful painting, your mother and you are both very talented. Best wishes to you both and I hope you will be together for many years to come.

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

