Nature Insight: Ready or Not

Berries ripened, hips turned yellow to red;

mushrooms appeared so clean in the grass;

and still a flowering here and there, 

as if spring was in the air

not winter on our minds.

But when the leaves turn colors,

the wind turns cold and brings them down …

… before we, at least,  are ready.





©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

19 thoughts on “Nature Insight: Ready or Not

  1. Oh Diane, I honestly sometimes camnot put into adequate words the impact you writing and illustrations have upon me. I just want this one on my wall!! It’s packed with comfort, hope, optimism,a little melancholy , it just has everything I love. This may sound a little strange (for want of a better word) but when I am in touch with any of your writing I feel safe. Paths cross at certain times and ours have crossed at a time when feeling safe is something I really need, so thank you just for being part of my life.

    I love your writing and I love you too! 🙂

    Thank you so much for this; I know I will keep returning to it today.

    Lots of love a d hugs

    Christine xxxx

    Like

    • Dear Christine – You can’t know how much your comment means to me … I am quite emotional right now. Just knowing that I can bring a little light and safety to your life … well, what a complement … Please know that you have surrounded me with such love at a time when I need it too … ‘comfort, hope, optimism,a little melancholy’ — you know me so well. Those are the things that give life lightness and depth.

      I purposely try to post something positive when I am struggling against the opposite.

      Thank you for your love and encouragement – I feel very blessed to have met you too! Hugs and kisses with lots of ♥ Diane

      Like

  2. Hi Diane, this really is lovely, your work is fantastic! This would make wonderful postcards too! I wish you many inspiring hours! 🙂 and thank you for all the comments on my blog, I am trying to catch up with everything. x

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Ina! I am in the process of formatting a flower book of illustrations and prose-poetry (from a journal I did many years ago while living in England). I hope to have it published by Christmas, but we’ll see how it goes. I so appreciate your encouragement and send wishes for continued inspiration right back to you! XO

      Like

    • Hi, Betty. I am so glad you enjoy my work – I take it as a great complement as I think so very highly of your own! I totally understand about being behind, and hope you are feeling better. Love and hugs, Diane♥

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

