Repost: In a Cold Climate

Originally posted December 2011 …

With shorter days come slower nights, more time to settle for solitude.

Love is gone and is here still, more in the heart than can be lived.

For all there is a season and this is mine, evergreen, and woven into wintery cobwebs.

Somehow I resist the temptation to brush them away.





I prefer winter…when you feel the bone structure of the landscape – the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter.
Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn’t show.

Andrew Wyeth, American Painter (1917 – 2009)


Thanks to Mindfulbalance for passing on this quote in the post Our Roots are Deep, Despite the Wind.


©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

24 thoughts on “Repost: In a Cold Climate

  1. Hi Diane,,
    I remember this! I love it just as much now, more even, because we know each others hearts more now so it says much more to me about your love for nature, and the whole universe; you have such a kind, warm heart. Love you to bits

    Christine xxxxxxs

    Like

    • Hi, Christine.
      When I went back in the ‘panic’ that I had nothing new to post I was grateful that I had written this one. I thought about how I wrote it in a very serene moment, when inspiration was so satisfying and sublime. I pray for many more such musings … for us all.

      Your words are so kind, Christine, your friendship so dear! Blessings and love, Diane XO ♥

      Like

  2. Diane, this is amazing–and my new fave, possibly all-time-fave. I am always stunned when we poets, who do not communicate daily, happen onto similar, nearby pages. Last night I felt moved to begin working on my unfinished novel again (after a couple years’ hiatus)–and in the first paragraph (fresh start from scratch–not looking at previous document for comparisons) I used the word cobwebs as metaphor. I hope things are well with you–love and prayers for a blessed Christmas season! Caddo

    Like

    • I love such coincidences, Caddo, although of course there aren’t any … I think there is an energy to creativity, like spirituality, that connects at all time. Thank you for sharing this and I am so thrilled you are writing on your novel again. Keep at it and be kind to yourself as you are working on it! Enjoy this beautiful blessed season! Love and hugs, Diane ♥

      Like

  3. “Love is gone and is here still, more in the heart than can be lived”

    I love that verse. Powerful and compressed. What could be better. Needless to say, the drawing is a delight. Everything I would expect from you

    Like

  4. Solitude is so precious to me, and so I appreciate the winter and your lovely poem connecting them. Wintery cobwebs… This morning I found a spider in my empty iced tea pitcher – yikes! I wonder if it was the same one that came dangling down from the ceiling in front of me when I was decorating for the season two days ago? Will try to stay calm and think of your wintery cobwebs…

    Like

    • Yes, solitude is a precious thing to me too, Barbara … especially in a world that portrays it as a problem. I hope it was a dainty spider who was just teasing you a little … playing hide n’ seek (although it doesn’t sound like you were seeking it)! I also need to think of the serenity of those cobwebs so naturally clinging to the evergreen. XO

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

