Inspiration Awarded

A sound, a scent, a sight,
a hope, a dream, a memory,
creative tunneling towards the light;
one word, then two and three,
a poem, a page or more of prose
set out on a never-ending journey;
there’s loss, there’s love, not less
than the unsettled heart should need
to imagine how it is doomed and blessed;
the stars, the sun, the moon,
a breeze and, oh, the stillness, too
give the birds and composer’s hand a tune;
a brush, a lens, a thought,
what is known and never can be
explained except as inspiration sought.

Copyright 2012 by Dm Denton

Copyright 2012 by Dm Denton

I want to thank onwindydays for recently nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award!  Such a lovely gesture. I am humbled and it makes me very happy to play it forward!

veryinspiringblogaward

First (this is rule I almost didn’t follow) I am supposed to offer seven things about myself … 

  1. I have a milestone birthday this year.
  2. I have been writing stories and poems since I could write.
  3. I have had nineteen cats, two dogs and a budgerigar named Billy.  
  4. I worked as a gardener on a large estate.
  5. I lived in a medieval abbey.
  6. I live in a log cabin.
  7. I believe in reincarnation.

The blogs I nominate (in no particular order as I am inspired by them all, and a few more than ‘the rules’ require) are:

Journey into Poetry journeyintopoetry.wordpress.com

Ina inaweblogisback.wordpress.com

Countingducks countingducks.wordpress.com

By the Sea www.ingebrita.net

Rae Spencer www.raespencer.com

Caddo Veil caddoveil.com

frommymusings2u frommymusings2u.wordpress.com

Martin Shone – Silence Happens theearthneedstobreathe.wordpress.com and likethesunshone agapintheclouds.wordpress.com

Linda willows lindawillows.wordpress.com

Margaret griffin margaretgriffin.wordpress.com

Bodhirose’s Blog bodhirose.wordpress.com

Seasonings raindancepoetry.wordpress.com

Contemplative Moorings contemplativemoorings.wordpress.com

The Tale of My Heart  justsimplyinlove.wordpress.com

Kiwsparks kiwsparks.wordpress.com

LScott Poetry lscotthoughts.com

Pitching Pennies Poetry smzang.wordpress.com

Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin ellenolinger.wordpress.com

For those nominees, here are the rules, certainly your option to follow or not.

* Display the award logo on your blog

* Link back to the person who nominated you

* State seven things about yourself

* Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them

* Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements

Blessings to all for continued inspiration! Follow your bliss!

donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

30 thoughts on “Inspiration Awarded

  1. Hi Diane, what a beautiful images, that was the first thing I thought, and then I enjoyed the poem too, I read on and saw that you got an award, congratulations! Your blog really is an inspiration!
    I then read on some more and saw my name, wow, thank you very much for passing it on to me! 🙂
    I am very glad to know you (by internet, but still! ) I know you are very busy with your next novel, so it is amazing how you still find time to do all this!
    xx and a big hug! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Ina! Thank you! I am glad you saw that I nominated you – I just haven’t got around to letting everyone on the list know yet! I can’t say enough how blessed I am to have made your friendship, albeit virtual. I used to feel so alone as a creative soul and blogging and connecting to other writers and artists and ‘observers’ and ‘inventors’ of life, as it were, has made such a difference. As far as finding time, I can’t think how I ever had time for the ‘day’ job! Guess, eventually, I will have to deal with that again …

      I could send that time question right back to you … for you are so prolific with your poetry and I know you are writing a novel, too! Blessings, love and hugs, Diane ♥

      Like

  2. Diane! What a beautiful poem which has a gentle spring breeze blowing all the way through it; I can feel the warmth. And congratulations on this award!

    And thank you so much for nominating me too! What an absolute honour. I dont know if I have the energy to pass it on as you have done. i will give it a try.

    You are a shining star.

    And I cant wait or the snow to go away so I can get myself to a picture framing shop! 🙂

    Love and big hugs

    Christine xxxxx

    Like

    • Thank you, Christine! Of course I would nominate you. Who has inspired and encouraged me more? And please don’t worry about passing it on. It was my way of making up ( a little) for always being behind on everyone’s posts …

      I haven’t felt like I’m shining much lately. So thank you for illuminating my life with your beautiful light!

      And I can’t wait to see how you frame the painting … please take a photo when you do.

      Lots of love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

      Like

  3. Congratulations, Diane! You are more than deserving for any blog award and I love your beautiful poem, too! And thank you for including me in your list of nominees! I’m truly honored and so happy that you and I have become “friends” in this blogging circle! I also hope you understand if I don’t follow through, due to time constraints…please know that I am very grateful, my friend! Sending you big congratulatory hugs and many blessings! xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you, Lauren, and of course I understand! I just wanted to acknowledge the very talented and beautifully spirited bloggers that I have been blessed to connect to. Hope you are doing better – your poetry speaks from the faith and resiliency of your spirit, the enormity of your heart. Prayers always coming your way. Love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

      Like

  4. Diane, congratulations – you truly deserve this award. And thank you for the nomination!
    I enjoyed reading about you – that you lived in a medieval abbey is fascinating. And now a log cabin – I love the idea. (And I also believe in reincarnation. Mayberrie poems are from a past memory – from somewhere in the UK.)

    Like

    • Thank you, Betty! I had a feeling your Mayberrie poems came from past life memories. I have had them since I was very young, too. I recently read a book – prepublication – of a novel about past life regression and it really stirred up some things for me again. I hope to do more with reincarnation in my future writing, but it is always present as you probably appreciate.

      Here is a link to the abbey I lived in (eventually became a Jacobean mansion and now is a college, which is how I ended up there … but also lived there as a non-student):http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wroxton_Abbey

      Blessings, love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

      Like

      • Diane, wish we could sit and chat over a cup of tea! Seems we’d have much to talk about. Have you ever heard of Dr. Ian Stevenson who studied cases all over the world of children with past life memories? He wrote many books and you could probably google him. He was very scientific and objective, and I met him when he came to town and interviewed me when my older son (age 2 at the time) started having memories that could only have come from my brother (who died in 1952 of polio). I’ve had plenty of memories of my own and have no doubts.
        Thanks for the link to the abbey where you lived – what a great experience that must’ve been! 🙂

        Like

      • Hi, Betty. So sorry for the delay in replying. Yes, wouldn’t it be wonderful to be able to visit and chat about these things, and so much more? I have vaguely heard of Dr. Stevenson and will be sure to look him up. That is really interesting that you met him and he interviewed about your son and his past life memories! I even believe that one of my kitties – Gabby – is a reincarnation of another cat we had, Sadie. When we first got him and he was very tiny, I was holding him on my lap and I just got this overwhelming emotional feeling that he was Sadie. So I said her name and he jumped up and seemed very excited. I have no doubts, either.

        Yes, the abbey was a very interesting place … so much history … and atmosphere. I am using it in the current novel I’m writing which is a sequel to A House Near Luccoli. Love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

        Like

  5. Firstly, congratulations on your award, so richly deserved in my opinion, and for passing it on to me. This is very appreciated and a real morale booster. Having said, all the clever things you’ve done here, including getting the links in, and actually placing a picture of your award on the side of the Blog, are well beyond the range of CD, but I love getting awards anyway. Thankyou again

    Like

    • Hi, Barbara, my pleasure to nominate you, and thank you! And let me clarify – I have had nineteen cats over many years, not all at once. Have just five now. The most we ever had at one time was nine. I even brought two from England when I returned to the US in 1990 (left my ex there, but not my kitties!) 🙂

      Like

  6. I am honored by your nomination of me, Diane, and that I have inspired you. You have done the same for me. You possess a wonderful talent, not only in writing but in your amazing illustrations as well. I so enjoy them. I am so far behind in accepting and/or acknowledging some awards that I have received in the past several weeks. I am going to get busy and do that. Thank you, my friend, you are very kind!

    I always like learning more about my blogging friends…a log cabin…I love that…and lived in a medieval abbey…fascinating! And I too believe in reincarnation. We share a love of gardening too although I have never taken on an estate!

    Like

    • Hi, Gayle! My great pleasure to nominate you – I love your work and all you represent through your lovely words and spirit. Thank you so much for your generousity regarding my writing and artwork. Blessings, love and hugs (and pass one on to that darling little granddaughter of yours) Diane

      Like

  7. Pingback: Over the Top | kiwsparks

I welcome your impressions ...

