An Artist Revealed

by my mom, June ©

By my mom, June ©

The secrets of your heart
are stacked against the wall,
canvases for your art
of hiding what you missed.
No mistaking your style,
a freedom out of hand
that kept you all the while
believing as you wished.
A world that long was yours
before it was revealed—
imagination soars
with courage its master.
 Flowers filling a place
left bereft of your own,
a portrait in a vase
found by me, your daughter.
Landscapes take you afar,
cats and soup bring you home
to settle for who you are:
the author of this poem.
By my mom, June ©

By my mom, June ©

Happy Birthday, Mom,
my dearest friend
and mentor!

And I know it is Mothering Sunday in the UK today, so loving wishes to all who are mothers (to human and animal children). It is all about nurturing the gift of life!

donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

12 thoughts on “An Artist Revealed

  1. Oh Diane,

    I become more and more awestruck by your work and your mum’s. And a very happy birthday to her!! I hope she haas a truly lovely day. i know she has already been”showered with flowers”! Please convey to her my awe at these two paintings. I absolutely love the delicate detail of the cats in the second one, where I could quite contentedly set up home. The first painting is just oozing with colour, delicate scent and love. I just love it.

    My daughters will be calling in a couple of hours. And I received a lovely card from our son, it very simply said “I love that you’re my mum” – made me cry.

    I don’t think Ive told you before, you my middle name is June!

    Like

    • Hi, Christine – sorry for the delay in replying to your lovely lovely comment. My mom had a nice day. I had offered to take her out to dinner, but she preferred to stay home and so I cooked a nice meal and surprised her with the poem. I believe she liked it. I just love the purple-blue roofs on the landscape – and the wildly colorful flowerbeds and, of course, the cats! So glad you had a lovely day, Sunday. What a sweet thing your son said … it is not always easy for men to express themselves like that. But it sounds like he’s a remarkable fellow!

      Oh, and that is so neat – that your middle name is June! Love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

      Like

  2. Oops – forgot o mention a very beautiful line in your poem that evoked such a warm cosy emotion, “cats and soup bring you home
    to settle for who you are” – just beautiful, both the line of words and you! ❤

    Lots of love and hugs xxxx

    Like

    • Yes, I was pleased when that line came to me … I wanted to bring the poem down to earth, as it were – my mom is very artistic and imaginative, but also very practical and happy with the simple pleasures. Love ya! ♥

      Like

  3. Hi Diane,

    what a lovely art and poem! The last sentence says it all 🙂 I can imagine you and your mother are good companion to each other, both artistic! The cats and the flowers, the cosyness, love it 🙂 I hope you both have a wonderful day and that you can be in eachother’s company for a long time. Enjoy!

    I am not sure Mothering Sunday is the same as Mothers Day, but I just had a son over and it is always nice to be mothering a bit 🙂 ❤ xx

    Like

    • Hi, Ina, and thank you so much! I am glad you liked the last sentence – it took a little while for it to come to me but then it seemed right. You know how that goes! So glad your Sunday was about mothering, too. Thank you, also, for your best wishes for my mom and I. Love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

      Like

  4. Oh how lovely, Diane! And thanks for telling the US readers that it’s Mothering Sunday–you gave us a whole post full of blessings today!

    Like

  5. Diane,

    I can see that talent is genetic in your family. Your mother’s work
    embraces and soothes. Just a look changed my mood to serene.

    Visiting your blog is always a rich experience. Thank you for sharing so generously that which is dear to you.

    Sarah

    Like

  6. Diane, I thought I had commented earlier, so this is a bit late, but I just had to let you know how beautiful this entire post is. Your Mom is truly talented and now we know how her daughter became such a lovely artist and writer, too! Your love pours through here, as well, which is beautiful, in itself. Continue to cherish your times together. It’s been a year since my Mom passed and it’s still very surreal, not having her physical presence nearby…sending much love and many hugs your way, my friend..xoxo

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

