The Shepherdess – A Copy

The Shepherdess Copy by DMD

I remember

 the silence

the solitude

the softness of lambs

looking for their mothers

the world

somewhere else

the youth

of my dreams

the peace in my heart.

 

I was not original

copying another’s vision

how was it wrong

to be so serene

as I learned

the technique

and satisfaction

of being an artist

long ago

and faraway

still within sight

every day.

I am breaking my ‘rule’ and posting this poem after writing it very spontaneously, very quickly. I wanted to post something for Easter to go along with this painting that I did many many years ago, that hangs in our living room. You may recognize it as a likeness of The Shepherdess (1866) by Johann Baptist Hofner. I used to copy other artists a lot in the ‘old’ days – it is a great way to develop, I think, like a lamb learning from its mother, all innocence and belief .

The Shepherdess by Johann Baptist Hofner

The Shepherdess by Johann Baptist Hofner

Blessings for Easter, Passover, and Spring!



donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

15 thoughts on “The Shepherdess – A Copy

  1. Diane, no matter how long it took you to write the poem, between your words and your “copy” of the painting, this post is just lovely for Easter and for spring and your painting is a stunning likeness. Wishing you a wonderful Easter! xoxo

    Like

  2. Hi Diane, what a lovely scene, and I admire how you painted those folds in the cloth, (as I find folds and hair soooo difficult to do lol) . The best poems are those written in one flow! perhaps … 🙂 this one gives a good insight in your thoughts, and it is a lovely message for this time of year. We are having a white Easter here btw. Have a good Easter ♥

    Like

    • Hi, Ina, and thank you! I am trying to be a little more spontaneous with some of my poetry, at least. And painting those folds in the cloth filled the many hours I spent alone at that time in my life. Our Easter was warm with a little rain. But it is snowing again today, and VERY cold. We are promised a turn to more springlike weather from tomorrow, though. XO ♥

      Like

  3. Diane, this poem is gorgeous. As you know I m still learning all about poetry as I go along, but I do think that some of my (dare I say it?!) better ones, have actually been written spontaneously and it seems right to simply let them be shared as they are, without revisiting and editing. That is now it sometimes feels for me anyway.

    And your painting is just wonderful! The faces on the animals are so real and loving. It certainly needs to be on your wall! Absolutely beautiful.

    Lots of love and hugs

    ❤ Xxx

    Like

    • Hi, Christine! So glad you enjoyed the post and painting. My writing ‘disciplines’ are more self-imposed than anything. It was interesting to just start letting the words come and somehow they spoke as I wanted to. It is always about finding our voice, isn’t it, in one form or another – even through spontaneity things take shape.

      I looked up what the Zen ‘take’ on spontaneity is and found this:
      ‘Zen often seems paradoxical – it requires an intense discipline which, when practised properly, results in total spontaneity and ultimate freedom. This natural spontaneity should not be confused with impulsiveness.’

      I think that really speaks to the creative process, including writing.

      I have always been fond of this Shepherdess painting, even though it is a copy. I so love pastoral settings and shepherding seems such a peaceful life to me. Hope your week is going splendidly with lots of fun and blessings. XXXOOO ♥

      Like

  4. As I perused your latest postings, I realized that I had read this one before but apparently was distracted by something before I could leave a comment. I too love the idea of shepharding…seems like it would go with my love of solitude and quiet. I love your paintings, Diane…and don’t even know how to describe why I love them..I don’t seem to have the language but they are very appealing and “soft” somehow.

    I wanted to thank you for your continued visits to my sporadic posts. My heart hasn’t been in writing all that much lately…or apparently paying visits to others as I should either. I hope to do better and appreciate you sticking by me! You possess amazing talent in so many aspects of your life…I’m truly in awe..

    Gayle xoxo

    Like

    • Hi, Gayle! Yes, I have always been attracted to paintings and stories about shepherds … and I think it is as you said … I also have a love for solitude and quiet.

      Thank you so much for your kind words about my work. It is always my pleasure to visit your blog. Your poetic reflections are a joy to me whenever they appear or I can get to them … I know, myself, how sometimes inspiraton rushes at one and sometimes it seems to be gone completely. I am grateful for our virtual friendship, a blessing, indeed! Love and hugs, Diane ♥

      Like

  5. And thank you for those generous words about my writing, Diane. I am grateful if anything I write brings joy to someone else…a true blessing…as is our friendship. Thanks for that too. You’re a sweetheart.

    Yes, inspiration for writing seems sporadic at best since I moved to come take care of my grandbaby. My life is much more busy these days…in such a pleasant way. Writing has taken a back seat for now… So be it…I’m accepting that.

    Thanks again for the nice note, Diane.

    Love and hugs,
    Gayle

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

