Written in the Stars

A secret I kept
with the stars overhead
and a friend not a friend
who stole me from you;
for I would’ve gone on
sitting there on damp grass,
amid lightning bugs,
and hope in the night;
not drinking the wine,
but knowing it flowed.
Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

Copyright 2013 by DM Denton

No secret it was
with the journeys I took
and a hope not a hope
that looked for each sign
as the music went on
and the show knew its end
of once-again love
unable to grow
by right of what was,
at last, only right.
That secret I keep
with you among the stars
and a heart not a heart
that begs me: forget
as, yet, I would go on
sitting there in your sight
with unspoken words
for stories to tell;
not meaning to lie,
just hiding the truth.


Written in the stars and, especially, for April 9, 2013
“Let no one who loves be called altogether unhappy. Even love unreturned has its rainbow.”
― J.M. Barrie




©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

16 thoughts on “Written in the Stars

  1. There’s something, I don’t know, about this poem, Diane. That first stanza seems, to me, to be very sad and it seems to run through it all yet be quite gentle too.

    And Barrie’s quote seems to accept what I’m trying so inadequately to say.

    xx

    Like

  2. Hi Diane,

    Love this. this is sad and beautiful too, all the feelings that come with a love unreturned. “A friend not a friend who stole you from me” stealing, that is how it must feel anyway and that is even more sad! But it is better to have loved and lost, than not loved at all, maybe.
    Big hug

    xx

    Like

  3. A sadness perneates this beautiful poem Diane, but not an angry sadness, rather a quiet gentle one, which, actually, has the effect for me of making it even more sad. I think your words are sitting beneath that rainbow:)

    Much love and big hugs

    Christine ❤ xxx

    Like

    • No, you’re right – there isn’t any anger in it. In some ways I feel a subdued happiness with this ‘situation’ now. I know that it was as it had to be.

      ‘I think your words are sitting beneath that rainbow’ – how lovely! Thank you. XO ♥

      Like

  4. Diane, your words are gentle melancholy and beautiful, all at once..and the rainbow is worth it, even with unreturned love. I also sense acceptance in-between the lines and your poem is one of many I’ve read today about acceptance…much love and many hugs to you..xoxo

    Like

    • Hi, Lauren. And thank you so much for your lovely comment. Acceptance isn’t always the answer, but sometimes it keeps the heart happier, in a strange sort of way. Love and hugs to you, too! XO ♥

      Like

  5. There’s nothing quite as painful as not having your love returned and a friend who’s not a friend but in your writing it seems like a gentle resignation to what has occurred. That seems to be the way I handled pain of the heart, especially when younger, turned it quietly inward…

    Like

  6. But there are rainbows even with love not returned! How come poet’s often have that depth of sadness in what they write even as they find supreme beauty:
    for I would’ve gone on
    sitting there on damp grass,
    amid lightning bugs,
    and hope in the night;
    in the universe. This is a wonderful mood poem, Diane, that captures a heart and spirit that is gentle, beautiful, and sad all at once.

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

