Yellow Flags

A winding road
had brought me back
to yellow flags
that grew the sun
out of the rain.
Forgetfulness
had left them there
to multiply
like bread and fish
for proof of faith.
Again I paused
and passed them by
golden moments
waving me on
without farewell.
Page 34 from A Friendship with Flowers ©

Page 34 from A Friendship with Flowers ©

The image is a page from my illustrated flower journal
A Friendship with Flowers
available on amazon.com with free shipping.
Also at amazon.co.uk.
And on Amazon in Canada, France, Germany, Italy and Spain.

Cover Front Only Image

Video courtesy of wvoutdoorman’s channel: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaBN8JR-LWQ

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of  Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

18 thoughts on “Yellow Flags

  1. Oh Diane! This is my current fave of your poems–love the humility–the whole post is just SO Beautiful. I will forever see yellow flags in a completely different light–so full of God’s Spirit. Thanks, and may you be doubly blessed today! Love, Caddo

    Like

  2. So very beautiful! I’ll have to get your flower journal sometime soon, but just got my copy of ‘Luccoli’ in time (at last!) for our current trip, so will be reading *that* first. 😀 😀 😀
    The flower book reminds me of one I treasure that my Norwegian bro-in-law’s sweet mother gave me years ago, by the (also Norwegian) poet and flower illustrator Dagny Tande Lid. I think you’d love it too! I don’t know if there’s an English version of it . . .
    xoxo,
    Kathryn

    Like

    • Hi, Kathryn, and thank you so much for purchasing my novel! I so hope you enjoy it – I was hoping you would venture through its doors, and am looking forward to your reaction to it. Also, thank you for letting me know about Dagny Tande Lid … I had not heard of her and from the quick google search I did so far I can see how lovely her work was. Some more investigation is required! 🙂 XOXO

      Like

  3. Diane, this poem is absolutely gorgeous. I love the fact that I would recognise your writing now anywhere without a name attached. That gives me a warm feeling.

    I love the lines,

    “To multiply
    like bread and fish
    for proof of faith”

    And you know how much I love your flower book; it is one of my treasured possessions which always gives me a sense of peace. One or two people could well be in for a treat next Christmas 🙂

    Lots of love and many, many blessings
    ❤ Xx

    Like

    • Hi, Christine! What a lovely thing to say about my writing.

      Being able to share that flower journal has been one of the high points of my year – when I originally did it, I never imagined it would be published. It was done as a distraction and became a very cathartic obsession. Thank you so much for treasuring it!

      Endless love and blessings to you. XXXOOO ❤

      Like

  4. Such gentle beauty of yellow flags “that grew the sun out of the rain.” I’m always speechless after reading your poetry and viewing your art, Diane. They’re always so beautiful and awe-inspiring…sending you love and blessings, my friend..xoxo

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

