Repost: Blessed is the Rain

Rain is grace; rain is the sky descending to the earth; without rain, there would be no life.
John Updike

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

So the rain never left us, just hesitated to refresh us, while hoping to remind us

that nothing grows with sun alone; thirst is one moment closer to hunger, and heat can wear out its welcome

for those who look for the willowherb to rise in sight of water, and the lily pad to float and blossom further out of its depths.



I originally posted this last summer – how different it was, as we were in the middle of a pretty severe drought.  A couple of days ago, Toronto, which is three or so driving hours north of here, was flooded, so perhaps in those circumstances being grateful for the rain is hard. It has been a much improved growing season to last year, though. Had my first local sweetcorn last night. And sweet cherries. Alas, the local strawberries are over … But with nature, there is always something to look forward to.

By the way, this image and prose-poem will be featured in a 2014 calendar I will have available from September. It will feature some paintings and writings from my blog. Like many things with me right now, it is a work in progress. I’ll keep you updated.

Blessings to all, whatever season you are in!

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

23 thoughts on “Repost: Blessed is the Rain

  1. Hi Diane, lol rain is a good grace but too much makes you say good grace I suppose 🙂 Lovely posting as always. That calender is a great idea! xx

    Like

  2. I love this post Diane; there is so much to it. I particularly love the lily pad “to blossom further out of its depth” creates a beautiful image.

    To have a calendar with your artwork on display every day would be just brilliant! (i am working on mine too!)

    Last year here we had so much rain the ground was absolutely soaked and our garden, where there is a slight sip in the land, looked like a lake. And I remember vividly in 2007 it was so deep two ducks set up a temporary home! We seem to be getting a lot of flash floods these days which can be quite frightening for those in certain areas. So far rhis summer is very dry, which is good but like your quote says,we need the sky to descend to the earth!

    Lots of love and blessings always
    Xxx❤

    Like

    • Hi, Christine, and thank you. So glad you are doing a calendar, too!

      There seems to be a lot of flash flooding all around the world. I saw yesterday on the news where there was terrible raging floods sweeping whole villages away in China. Water is so powerful – for good and bad. Have you ever read DH Lawrence’s novella, ‘The Virgin and the Gypsy’. Whenever I hear about the destruction of water I think about that book. The movie is very good, too.

      We are having a relief for a few days from the heat and humidity and it feels so good. Before work today I weeded my lavender bed – work so sweetly scented. I know you said you had lavender put in along a path in garden – has it flowered yet? There is nothing so calming as the scent of lavender.

      Blessings, love and BIG hugs. ♥

      Like

  3. I havent read that novella Diane but I will now.

    And yes the lavender is flowering! Its lovely. I expect it will have more volume and height next year. Im loving the garden this year, John (my husband) has worked very hard to make it even lovelier as I spend much more time at home these days and the garden means so much to me. Its still very hot here, very unusual for us!! ❤ Xx

    Like

  4. A calendar of your paintings and writings sounds wonderful, Diane! ♥ It would be nice if rain would always fall in the places where it is needed – we’ve put Mother Nature so out of sorts with our oftentimes thoughtless human activities…

    Like

    • Hi, Barbara, and thank you! Yes, it does seem we have ‘put Mother Nature … out of sorts’ – we need more to treat her with much more respect and honor her for how she is willing to support our existence. XO

      Like

  5. Diane,

    Your own words describe this poem best: It is grace,
    and most surely it has ties with heaven. And I agree
    with Francina, a calendar would be a great idea.

    I’d like to put my order in now!

    Sarah

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

