Perennial Perspective

 
“She came toward me with two day-lilies, which she put in a childlike way into my hand, saying softly, under her breath, ‘These are my introduction.'” –  What literary critic and abolitionist, Thomas Wentworth Higginson, recalled of his unusual meeting with Emily Dickinson in 1870.
Copyright 2013 by Diane's mom, June

Copyright 2013 by Diane’s mom, June

A view

through day lilies

bright and brave

growing wild

without abandoning

the perfect plan

for their existence.



Wanted to share another favorite painting of mine from my mom’s artistic hand and free spirit!

‘The daylily is often called “the perfect perennial,” due to its dazzlings colors, ability to tolerate drought, capability to thrive in many zones, and requiring very little care.’ from Wikipedia

The daylilies are absolutely beautiful this year in Western New York … in gardens, along roadsides and fields, it seems everywhere you look!



donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

16 thoughts on “Perennial Perspective

  1. Beautiful poem and lovely painting by your Mom, Diane! I love their vibrant colors of reds and yellows, perfect colors for growing wild! I also love the quote you included. Day-lilies sound like the perfect flower for me to take care of, too! 🙂 Much love and many hugs! xoxo

    Like

  2. Hi Diane,
    a lovely painting and poem, I never heard of them and googled to find that daylilies only have flowers one day before they wilter? Maybe that is what ED wanted to say with them? 🙂 xx

    Like

    • Unfortunately my mom hasn’t painted much in the last few years. She did a lot when she attending a senior art class in her 70’s. I wish she would, but I know how artistic creation is … very tempermental and subject to the tides in our lives. I cherish the paintings she has done and it has been so nice to be able to share them with others this way. Thank you! XO ♥

      Like

  3. Hi Diane,
    I love your mother’s day lilies – and what a lovely poem too!
    (Sorry for my scarcity in reading blogs – it’s good to be viewing yours again. So much talent with your painting and poetry – wish I had more time to catch up completely here.)

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

