Repost: By a Thread

Hope those that have, don’t mind seeing this one again. Still on hiatus from posting anything brand new due to writing projects and, unexpectedly, a nasty flu bug, and what this poem expresses, I think.  My apologies for being absent from so many of the blogs I love to follow. Blessings to all.


So small

hanging on a thread

of its own making,

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

hesitant

to go up or down,

caught in a

movement larger than

its life,

taken for a ride,

let down so gently

after all.

Flattens out then gets

up again,

delicate and brave

as it

decides its next move.

Tiniest spider

I’ve ever

seen, slowly sliding

through the cracks

where it’s safe.



I have created a new page on Facebook specific to my novel, A House Near Luccoli. If you are on Facebook, I invite you to visit and, if you haven’t already, become a fan by LIKING it. Just click on the badge at the top of the right sidebar. My author page badge is just below. Thank you!



©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

18 thoughts on “Repost: By a Thread

  1. I never dreamed of reading a poem so lovely about a spider, Diane! 🙂 But it is beautiful and you could repost your poems a million times and they would still be brilliant and beautiful! Hope you feel better real soon! Big Hugs! xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you, Lauren. I am always fascinated by tiny tiny spiders that slide down ‘from the sky’ on an invisible thread (am always hoping my kitties don’t see them!). I actually carried the one that inspired the poem by its thread to a safer place. I am sure it wondered what the heck I was going to do to it! 🙂 Thank you for your kind wishes and hugs! I am feeling much better today. XO ♥

      Like

  2. Oh this is gorgeous Diane; I dont think Ive seen it before. Im sure I would remember it. And the illustration as ever beautiful. I particularly love “caught in a movement larger than its life”. This seems to me to be a metaphor too, of the brevity of life everywhere, so we should live the moment we’re caught in to the full. ❤

    A spider made a very fleeting appearance in a poem I wrote last week. Coming soon to a blog near you!! Lol ive had such a busy time lately I actually have a few poems in a queue!! Never been known before! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Christine! It was inspired by a real little ‘fellow’ and I couldn’t help noting its ‘courage’ despite its size, although it knew enough to escape!

      Can’t wait to see the poems in that queue! I’m inching closer to finishing my short story for ATTMPress’s kindle shorts – it’s tentatively called ‘The Library Next Door’ and is loosely based on an experience with reading my mom had when she was a girl. I feel some kind of Hitchcock twist for the end – just don’t know what it is yet! Then it will be back to finishing the sequel to “A House…’

      Happy writing! Joyous being! XO ♥

      Like

  3. I’ve no idea how I missed this, Diane–though I’ve had to cut down my blogging a bit due to health. At any rate, I’m here now–and it’s always a restful visit; you do such lovely work always. God bless you.

    Like

    • Thank you, and don’t worry! I have pulled back from blogging a little, due to not feeling well and other things. Glad the post offered you some R & R. Always lovely to “see” you and hope you feel better. Take care of yourself. Blessings, love and hugs! ♥

      Like

  4. Diane, Your painting reminds me of “Queen Anne’s Lace” which self seeded along the bike track near where I lived in Ferntree Gully. I liked the lacy appearance of the flower head. Your poem describes the small spider very well.

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

