The Snow White Gift

ATTMP Holiday Short ImageWe had the first snowfall last night, so how appropriate that the illustrated story I wrote for All Things That Matter Press’ Holiday Kindle Shorts became available on amazon.com today for $.99 (£0.77 at amazon.uk)!

The Snow White Gift is based on a real story from my mom’s youth.





In Depression-weary times, a little girl’s wish for a special doll touches a stoic heart. Through sacrifice and pure intent, giving her what she wants results in disappointment but eventually confirms that love and patience can work magic.

Copyright 2013 by DM Denton

Copyright 2013 by DM Denton

By the way, you can read this story without a Kindle device. Just download the FREE Kindle app to your computer, smartphone or tablet.

 

Although this story was specifically written for the upcoming holidays, it is relevant at any time:
For it is in giving that we receive. ―    St. Francis of Assisi



donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

17 thoughts on “The Snow White Gift

  1. This sounds like a beautiful, magical story, Diane, and I think it’s wonderful coming from your Mom’s youth, also. As always, your painting is amazing! I don’t have a kindle, so I’ll look into the free app for my iPhone. Love and hugs! xo

    Like

    • Thank you, Lauren! When I heard that my publisher was looking for Holiday Short Stories I knew this one was perfect. And I wrote 5000 words quicker than I ever have before! 🙂 I hope you get the app so you can read it. XO ♥

      Like

  2. Hi Diane,

    First I want to say congratulations on this story being published! Secondly, what a fabulous illustration to accompany it! And then to know the story is based on something from your mum’s youth makes it even more special!

    As you already know I have it on my kindle now; it arrived very quickly but a little late for my bed time reading last night. I started it but my eyes were closing! So I will begin again today.

    And what synchronicity that your first snowfall arrived at the same time – that’s magic! 😊

    Lots of love and hugs ❤ xx

    Like

    • Hi, Christine and thank you! I really enjoyed writing this story and doing the painting. When I started thinking of an appropriate story in the spirit of the upcoming Holidays – well, in the spirit of giving – I couldn’t pass this one up. I hope you enjoy it! And, yes, the synchronicity of the first snowfall – I love when that happens! 🙂 XO ♥

      Like

    • Hi, Francina. I checked the links to the amazon.com and amazon.uk pages for the story and they worked for me. Hope you were able to find it and could download it ok. Ina was having trouble with purchasing it in the Netherlands, even through amazon.uk. It seems that for kindle editions (at least some) you have to have your device or app registered in the uk. Let me know if you have a problem with it. Certainly hope you are able to get it and read it. My heartfelt wish is that this story can be shared. Thanks! XO

      Like

      • Hi Diane, Yes, I’m now the proud owner of yout lovely and beautiful book! You need to be indeed in the UK to be able to downlaod e-books or music from Amazon UK. No problem at all because Amazon USA does not have that restriction for Europe. If you wish it will be my pleasure to promote this moving and touching story on my blog. Just let me know and I will put it on the shelf in my WP bloggers book corner.
        Francina xox

        Like

I welcome your impressions ...

