Candles and Continuation

“How far that little candle throws his beams! So shines a good deed in a weary world.”
~ William Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice

As I heated up some soup for my lunch at work on this last day of 2013, I became very sad listening to a conversation that happens far too often – begun by someone ranting about how those who receive welfare or depend on social security or receive any kind of assistance are undermining what he has or might have or should have.

Why is there any reason to feel threatened by the safety nets or safe guards that attempt to alleviate poverty and injustice, create better working conditions, ensure education and healthcare for all, and offer help to those who have been caught in cycles of addiction or abuse or any number of “but for the grace of God …” situations?

Does it not serve all to try to lift up those who have fallen on bad times even when it might be because of their own behavior or choices?  If starving children are fed, does it matter that someone out there is “too lazy to work”?  If another life is helped to reach its highest and happiest potential, does it not give the world and every one of us who live in it more not less?  Greed has never made the world richer in its heart; judgment has never cleared the conscience of the soul. Is compassion not the creativity each of us has to offer?

“Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.”
~ Buddha

Neither is the quality of any one life diminished by the benefits another receives.

“When we are generous in welcoming people and sharing something with them—some food, a place in our homes, our time—not only do we no longer remain poor: we are enriched. I am well aware that when someone needing food knocks at your door, you always find a way of sharing food; as the proverb says, one can always ‘add more water to the beans’! Is it possible to add more water to the beans?…Always?…And you do so with love, demonstrating that true riches consist not in materials things, but in the heart!”
~ Pope Francis

Below is a re-post from last year, with heartfelt thanks to all who have followed my reflections, supported my writing and artwork, and lit the way for me and others to live and create in the best way possible.

I wish you all abundant blessings for the New Year
and far, far beyond!
May you and yours and all you love flourish and grow
and find comfort in continuation …

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton



The year

even as

it’s dying

grows

into another.







donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

19 thoughts on “Candles and Continuation

  1. It’s easy to judge, and I’m as guilty–even sitting from my gov’t subsidized window, eating food bought with federal assistance. I justify my harshness with statements like, “they don’t Respect all that they’re receiving”–because of course, I treat my provision with great respect, seeing it as a privilege and blessing–not a “right”. No matter the reason, judgmental attitudes are still wrong–a loving heart is what honors God best. I’m preaching to myself, obviously.

    Wishing you the best of everything in 2014, Diane–have a Blessed New Year–love, Caddo

    Like

    • Oh, Caddo, you are not preaching to yourself only. I wrote the words in this post, because so often the behavior of others – such as the ranting of the man I referred to – bring attention to the judgments one (and I mean myself) has made and might be tempted to make … to feel cheated in some way because others seem to get ‘more’. But each of us has all we need, as you said, in a loving heart that honors God or however we view the creative and compassionate presence that has given us the opportunity to be and do the best we can.

      Blessings to you for health, happiness and the joy of your poetic and gracious body, mind and spirit, Caddo! Lots of love, Diane ♥

      Like

  2. Beautifully said, Diane! The world could sure use some more compassion and understanding. A very happy New Year to you and yours! I hope 2014 brings you nothing but wonderful things. OX 😀

    Like

    • Thank you, Jackie. I think there are positive transformations taking place, despite the violence and intolerance that seems to reign. Thank you for all you do to promote compassionate and understanding through your creative appreciation of the natural world around us. Blessings for the New Year, my friend! Lots of love, Diane ♥

      Like

    • Thank you, Michael and for your excellent thought … that economy should be a collaboration not a competition. That is so true of how this world should be in all respects. So, we keep the faith! Blessings to you and yours for the New Year. 🙂

      Like

  3. I wholeheartedly agree with all you say here Diane. It is all very good food for thought on this first day of a new year, which I hope will bring peace to us all in whatever way such peace manifests itself. For me, it will be to accept what I cant change but move forward with a joyful heart and continue to hope that any words I write may just reach out to one person and help them create their own peace too.And you have said it all for me in these few beautifully wtitten few words. Your illustration, as ever, exquisitely expresses your gentleness and love of nature. Im putting up your calendar today and will have a little part of you with me every day.

    Lots of love and blessings for 2014
    xxx ❤ xxx

    Lots of lo

    Like

    • Your resolution is beautiful, Christine! Let peace begin with each of us … it has been ‘said’ many times, but it seems this world needs reminding constantly. I am grateful right now to be in a warm, cozy home, safe from the blizzard conditions outside! I am so glad you like the calendar and hope it brings some peaceful and healing energy into your home and life throughout the year. I have yours up in the kitchen where it is clearly in view (we have an open plan living room and kitchen combined). So I have a part of you with me every day, too!

      Heartfelt wishes to you and your lovely family for 2014. Love and hugs, Diane XO ❤ XO

      Like

    • Thank you, Francina. It is so heartening to know that there are such beautiful compassionate and sensitive hearts and spirits in the world like yours, Blessings for all you wish for in 2014 and far, far beyond. XOXO

      Like

  4. A thousand ‘Amens’ to this post and your thoughts here. When people say they should ” Get off their backsides” and other such comments about those in need or distress you can only shake your head at their lack of awareness. You shook your head very well in this post. Bless you for it

    Like

  5. Your nice words and your writing style did touch me Diane ! You have such a peaceful way to smoothly communicate your noble attitudes and your deep thoughts ! Life is beautiful when there are people and writers like you,dear friend ! I feel really lucky I spotted your blog and your exceptional work !!!
    All the best,
    Doda

    Like

    • Oh, thank you so much for your kind comment, DG. Sharing on my blog and in other ways through my writing has connected me to such wonderful hearts and spirits, and constantly renews my faith that life can be beautiful and good. I am so happy to meet you, too, and look forward to following your blog. It is warming me today, in the midst of snowy frigid-ness here with the sight of beautiful flowers and warm blue waters. Blessings, Diane

      Like

  6. Thank you Diane ! Even your comment-reply betrays your warm feelings and your exceptional writing skills !!! Indeed,life is heaven when you can share your deep thoughts and feelings with people who will take their fertile seeds and let them sprout widely …
    Have a brilliant and creative week,my new WordPress friend !
    Best,
    Doda

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

