Illustrative Return

I noticed the geese flying because their wings were silent,

Copyright by DM Denton 2012

Copyright by DM Denton 2012

their thoughts out loud,

direction unchanged,

destination in question,

frozen over with winter

their signposts

for spring:

necessity,

expectation,

instinct,

inevitability.

Or was belief all they needed?

Copyright 2013 by DM Denton

Copyright 2013 by DM Denton

donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

16 thoughts on “Illustrative Return

  1. Hi Christine, this is so lovely, the beautiful image (painting? or drawing?) is absolutely my favorite of yours now, what a beauty! And I also love the poem. The return of those magnificent birds always is the start of Spring. xx

    Like

  2. Wow Diane! What a magnificent twosome this post contains! The painting is just too lovely for words and the poem simply, in a few words, says all there is to be said on hope, trust, belief and faith. I could talk about this poem for hours. 😊 lots of love and hugs ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Christine! So glad you enjoyed it – I had used the painting before for a different poem (referenced in my reply to Ina’s comment), but wanted to do a new poem and just let this one come out. Sometimes, I labor too much over poems, I think. XO ♥

      Like

  3. Your painting is simply lovely, Diane, so serene and soothing and your words are beautiful, as ever! I know you are anxious for the new warmer season…Sending warm hugs and lots of love your way! xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Lauren! To hear anything I offer if serene and soothing is a great compliment to me. Yes, it is still the Antarctic here … but temps are supposed to go up into the forties on Saturday. That will be a heat wave for us. It’s going to take some time for the mountains of white to disappear, though. Lots of ♥ and hugs! XO

      Like

      • Forties? Wow, get out those flip flops! 😉 Well, continue to stay warm and soon the season will change to your liking! I will admit, though, mountains of white sound beautiful. Sending warm hugs your way! ♥

        Like

    • Thank you, Barbara! I love that about the geese ‘thinking out loud’. We have a swampy nature reserve just a few mile north of where I live, so thousands come in every spring. Some even stay, though hopefully, considering the frigid winter we’ve had, I hoped not to many. So lovely to see and hear them arriving again. XO ♥

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

