In memoriam: You Moved Through the Fair

As today marks the two year anniversary of the passing from this world of a special friend and extraordinary musician and spirit, Owain Phyfe, I want to share this one again.

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

Copyright 2012 by DM Denton

There was music on your breath
made softer
but not stilled by death;
the bright greeting of your eyes
lost, but for
reminiscing sighs;
the quick smile that found each one,
a star with
the warmth of the sun;
a playfulness in your hands
extending
songs from foreign lands.

You moved many through the fairs
and left them
mourning you in prayers;
those times past and present too,
with all your
audience to woo;
mine a quiet memory
not to let
fade and thus bury—
when neither too sweetly soon
nor too late
you sang for the moon.

The sketch is of Owain, a loved if often distant friend, who was a vocalist, instrumentalist, and founder of Nightwatch Recording, which concentrated on Renaissance and Medieval music, and, also, music from South America and Mexico. He died from pancreatic cancer on September 5, 2012 at the age of 63. I did the drawing many years before, intending to make it into a painting. Like, so many things relating to him, it remains unfinished.

He has left a legacy of beautiful music. Below is one of my favorites, but please go to YouTube for more examples. 

If you are interested in purchasing any of Owain’s CDs, have a look here:

 

donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

10 thoughts on “In memoriam: You Moved Through the Fair

  1. Wow Diane, I can hardly believe it is two years! I would have believed one year, but time really does fly by. And this poem is such a gentle and loving tribute to your treasured and gifted friend. And how lovely to share your words with us again on the anniversary. Maybe one day you will finiah the painting for him, for you ❤️ Xxx lots of love xxX

    Like

    • Thank you, Christine! I can hardly believe how much time has passed. I really don’t feel he has gone. I really should finish the painting, and maybe I will this winter. I still find it very emotional to listen to his music. XXXOOO ❤

      Like

  2. What touching tributes to your friend the poem and drawing are, Diane. Cancer is such a cruel disease, taking too many of us from our friends and families way too soon. Tim & I enjoyed listening to the song you included – so mournful and sweet. I have a feeling Owain Phyfe will not soon be forgotten… *hugs*

    Like

  3. Hi Diane, somehow I missed this posting, I remember it though, 2 years since you lost your good friend. So sad, but this is a beautiful ode to a very special man. ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Thank you, Ina! Yes, it is hard to believe it is 2 years … but music and memories mean he is never really gone. I wish he knew more of what he meant to me and how he continues to inspire and motivate me … then, perhaps, he does know. XO ❤

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

