Repost: Like a Nuthatch

Watching the birds on my nutty suet feeder the last few days, I decided to share this one for the third time. (Those of you who have my 2014 Calendar will recognize it, too.)

Following on my previous post, I’m still in the process of re-imagining this blog. I have, however, taken the first step, an important one for me at this time, and disabled the LIKE button. Whatever I post going forward is for anyone who comes upon it, enjoys it and/or finds it informative and interesting. Comments will still be much appreciated, but so will every anonymous coming and going.

My welcome and gratefulness to all who take the time to visit here, remains the same.



Nuthatch


What wouldn’t you give
for that peanutty feast –
something of your shyness
at the very least?

For you have valor,
obvious in your stance,
blue-gray caped crusader
eyes fixed in a glance.

Long-billed and short-tailed,
you observe from your perch,
impatient for my hand
to shorten your search.

While head over ‘heels’
you see nothing absurd
in making a descent
to reach what’s preferred.

And then there are times
you also move sideways
with strong toes and claws that
gravity obeys.

Your voice is distinct,
tiny horns on the wind,
red-breast hardly counting
your breaths out and in.

You have a technique
that seems topsy-turvy
but finds more delights than
others more nervy.

Tapping each crevice
you find grubs and insects
that many high climbers
routinely do miss.

Despite your short wings
you lift off with some pluck
to prove, after all, you
know which way is up.



©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

6 thoughts on “Repost: Like a Nuthatch

  1. Such a beautiful illustration Diane, so alive! And the poem too is just superb. What struck me even more reading it this time is your very detailed observation of this lovely bird. It almost feels as though observing him/her was like a meditation 😊❤️ Xxx

    Like

    • Hi, Christine. And thank you so much. I have to admit, that this is one of my favorite poems I’ve written … observational but, also, layered with the wisdom and direction that nature can give us. I wish more like this would come to me more often! 🙂 XO ❤

      Like

    • I love that, Kathryn – ‘handsome and charming little prince’. They aren’t so shy with me when I’m near the feeder now … I love their little peepings as I provide them with their favorite peanut-ty treat! Thank you! XO ❤

      Like

  2. I am enjoying this poem and drawing on my calendar this month! I hope you plan on making another calendar in the future for this one has been a source of joy for almost a year now. Take care. XO ❤

    Like

    • Thank you, Jackie – so glad you enjoy this one and that the calendar has brought you some pleasure through the year. I might do a smaller one this year – haven’t decided, yet. Again, a matter of time. Blessings, love and hugs. ❤

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

