Forbidden

Your Love
was not for kisses
except for those near misses
that left it lost in time

Such hopes
were not for holding
in no way emboldening
my heart to make you mine

Your voice
was not for ever
despite its best endeavor
to echo in my dreams

The truth
cannot be spoken
forbidden not forgotten
if all is as it seems

I wish upon a star

And write of love unknown
much as ghosts are

 

When I find a windflower, I find my heart can love no other

 

I have been putting most of my poetic thoughts into my prose these days. So, just a simple one, nothing like the beautiful intricate poetry that my very talented friends are writing. This one just came and, for what it’s worth, I share.

 

donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back tobardessdmdenton. Thank you.

23 thoughts on “Forbidden

  1. this is a beautifully melancholy poem Diane, such a velvety depth of feeling. And I also love the rhyming scheme you have used which makes the sadness flow, as though you are allowing the feelings to arrive and then pass by. ❤️ Xxx

    Like

    • Thank you for your lovely thoughtful comment, Christine – poetic in itself: “velvety depth of feeling.” The first lines came while I was listening to some love poetry by John Keat’s … nothing like, but, at least, I was ‘inspired’ to write a poem again. XO ❤

      Like

    • Thank you, Lea! Yes, I do love wildflowers – I have published a journal of my friendship with them while in England, and they are never stranger wherever I find myself. I can imagine how beautiful they are in your neck of the woods. XO ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s lovely Diane. Don’t compare! It’s an artist’s Achilles… just honour your beautiful heart and what it wishes to express. I am sure I wasn’t the only one this touched, gently and gracefully x

    Like

  3. Diane, I love this and as always can relate to the theme. Beautifully constructed.

    Sorry I haven’t been keeping up with blogs – have missed you and hoping to be on the computer soon. (Your artwork always amazes me along with your writing talent.)

    Like

    • Hi, Betty, thank you so much! And please don’t apologize – it is just so lovely to see you here. I haven’t been keeping up with others blogs either. I know how there just isn’t enough time and writing energy. Hope you are well. Have a lovely summer! XO ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Kathryn! Blessings, my dear friend, and apologies AGAIN for getting over to your blog for such a long while. Hope you are well and not affected by the flooding in Texas. Take care. XO ❤

      Like

  4. It is yours Diane, your unique creative expression and it is beautiful…the words and the paitning. Your song is authentic and it’s a blessing for us to be able to share it. Hugs and much ❤ xXx

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

