A View Through Day Lilies

“If we could see the miracle of a single flower clearly our whole life would change.”
~ Buddha 

Partially, a re-post – I just had to snap this photograph of the proud Day Lilies in my little St. Francis garden, and, of course, once again display the lovely painting just below by my mom, June.

 
Day Lilies resized_pe

Mom's Day Lilies  July 2014

Mom’s Day Lilies – Copyright 2013

A view

through day lilies

bright and brave

growing wild

without abandoning

the perfect plan

for their existence.



donatellasmallest©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

15 thoughts on “A View Through Day Lilies

  1. Diane,

    Both photograph and painting are true beauties, and your poem is grand.
    It is like a calm lake with a strong current beneath the surface. When I read
    those gently crafted dynamic lines I am reminded that still waters run deep!
    Your work is a joy.

    Hugs,
    Sarah

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Sarah! Your comments always reach into my heart and are so encouraging. I got over to your blog today and as so inspired and healed by your beautiful poetry. Love and hugs, Diane

      Like

  2. Hi {{{ Diane }}}, a lovely posting again, and it is true, some flowers just grow on in spite 🙂 You noticed that and that they are pretty awesome! ❤ xxx

    Like

  3. So beautiful, Diane, the images and your poetry! My neighbor across the street must have hundreds of gorgeous daylilies on the steep slope between her lawn and the road. Summer wouldn’t be the same without seeing them when I open my shades in the morning.

    Like

  4. Ahhh, daylilies. One of my pet flowering plants. 😀 Much love to you, dearest! I have been thinking of you, but had a busy summer thus far so I haven’t been commenting/corresponding at all lately. 🙂 You’ll be happy to know that this year’s Boston Early Music Festival opened, for me, with the first attended program’s first piece being a lovely Stradella one! You can imagine I was hugging myself gleefully and thinking of you. 😀
    ❤ ❤ ❤
    Kathryn

    Like

    • Yes, daylilies are quite splendid, Kathryn. I appreciate you stopping by, as I haven’t visited your blog for some time. And so glad to hear Stradella’s music is being performed. Dare I say – I know you were reading A House Near Luccoli, and can’t but help wonder what you thought of it in the end. Also, hope, when you have the time, you will read the sequel, as music continues to be an integral part of Donatella’s life. Hope you and your husband are very well. XO ❤

      Like

  5. Such beautifully powerful words in this short poem Diane. I love the photograph and of course your mum’s painting.

    Your words caused me to think and feel deeply. So many times in life, that perfect plan for my existence has been fought against and abandoned by me during my years of alcoholism and depression. And although I abandoned it, it didnt abandon me, and still I grow…
    ❤️ Xx

    Like

I welcome your impressions ...

