Nature Insight: Song of the Thrush

The Thrush
for the moment
without a song,
walked the path
with a purpose
she had all along.

She meant
to crack that snail
so hard to crack.
Who would’ve thought
all she should do
was give it a whack.

Whack, wallop, whack!
Whack, wallop, whack!
Such strength to pretend.
Whack, wallop, whack!
Stand back, stand back!

Have a go again!

The thrush
for the moment
found a new song,
flying off with
a meal she knew
she had all along.

                                                                                                                  

(Author’s note: Just had a little fun writing this inspired by long ago scribbled words.)

©Artwork and writing, unless otherwise indicated, are the property of Diane M Denton. Please request permission to reproduce or post elsewhere with a link back to bardessdmdenton. Thank you.

18 thoughts on “Nature Insight: Song of the Thrush

  1. Hi! Is that your illustration of the thrush? It’s just lovely. You have a style all your own.

    I usually hear the insistent tapping sound of a thrush when it’s trying to crack open its dinner before I can see it – I then scan the garden to locate it. You’ve caught the moment beautifully here. I also pick up on some subtle underlying meanings – I was very much reminded of your comment (which has stayed with me) about words being like shells…

    Like

    • Hi! Thanks! Yes, it is my illustration…well, part of one. Now and then the paintbrush replaces the pen!

      Yes, there are underlying meanings–I like to write with a distinct visual in mind that can be read simply as a descriptive story but also–because of the magical dimensions of words–has a little more to offer between the lines.

      That’s what I love about writing poetry. But I believe prose can achieve the same effect. Of course that’s why it takes me so long to write the latter!

      Like

    • Thank you so much for visiting my blog and following. I am honored as your posts are so beautifully expressive in words and images. I have added it to my blog roll and hope as many as possible discover its magic too!

      Like

I welcome your impressions ...

